What is the Skilled Migration Occupation List?

The list of vocations was most recently updated by the Australian Ministry of Home Affairs. The updated list pertains to the skilled immigration scheme.

The talents list of the Australian government comprises three categories:

  • Short Term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL)
  • The MLTSSL stands for Medium and Long-Term Strategic Skill List.
  • Region-specific Occupation List
  • The explanations for these lists are provided in more detail below.

    There are around 215 jobs on the Short-term Skilled Occupation List. These professions are in demand throughout Australia’s territory. Previously known as the Consolidated Sponsored Occupation List, this list (CSOL).

    You can apply for the below visas under the STSOL program:

  • Skilled Nominated Visa Subclass 190
  • Skilled Regional Provisional Visa Subclass 489
  • Direct Entry through Employer Nomination Scheme Subclass 186 Visa
  • Visa Subclass 457 for Temporary Workers
  • Training Subclass 407 Visas
  • The list of professions that are now in demand in Australia is called the Skilled Occupation List (SOL). The SOL is used for skilled immigration to Australia and comprises professions including doctors, engineers, and teachers that are regarded as skilled.

    The SOL is separated into three groups:

  • 1. Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL) - This list includes occupations that are in high demand and are considered to be of long-term strategic importance to the Australian economy. These occupations have no limit on the number of visas that can be issued each year.
  • 2. Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL) - This list includes occupations that are in demand in the short term and are not considered to be of long-term strategic importance to the Australian economy. There are limits on the number of visas that can be issued each year for these occupations.
  • 3. Regional Occupation List (ROL) - This list includes occupations that are in demand in regional Australia and are not on the MLTSSL or STSOL. These occupations may have different visa requirements and conditions compared to other occupations on the SOL.
  • The Australian Government constantly updates and reviews the SOL. You must have a designated vocation that is on the SOL and satisfy other visa conditions, such as age, English language competency, and work experience, in order to be eligible for skilled migration to Australia.

    Skilled Occupation List (short list) – Skilled Independent Visa

    The short list of jobs that you could pursue to obtain a Skilled Independent Visa for Australia is shown below. (subclass 189).

    Step 1: You must work in one of the specialized occupations listed below.

    Step 2: Complete the ONLINE ELIGIBILITY ASSESSMENT in step two. You must receive 65 points or higher on the Eligibility Assessment to pass.

    1. Accountant
    Occupation Visa Type Occupation Visa Type
    Accountant (General) MLTSSL External Auditor MLTSSL
    Internal Auditor MLTSSL Management Accountant MLTSSL
    Internal Auditor MLTSSL Management Accountant MLTSSL
    Tax Accountant MLTSSL
    2. Architect
    Occupation Visa Type Occupation Visa Type
    Landscape Architect MLTSSL Naval Architect MLTSSL
    Qualified Architect MLTSSL
    3. Engineer
    Occupation Visa Type Occupation Visa Type
    Aeronautical Engineer MLTSSL Agricultural Engineer MLTSSL
    Biomedical Engineer MLTSSL Chemical Engineer MLTSSL
    Civil Engineer MLTSSL Civil Engineering Draftsperson MLTSSL
    Civil Engineering Technician MLTSSL Electrical Engineer MLTSSL
    Electrical Engineering Draftsperson MLTSSL Electrical Engineering Technician MLTSSL
    Engineering Manager MLTSSL Engineering Professionals MLTSSL
    Environmental Engineer MLTSSL Geotechnical Engineer MLTSSL
    Industrial Engineer MLTSSL Materials Engineer MLTSSL
    Mechanical Engineer MLTSSL Mining Engineer (excluding Petroleum) MLTSSL
    Petroleum Engineer MLTSSL Physicist MLTSSL
    Production or Plant Engineer MLTSSL Structural Engineer MLTSSL
    Telecommunications Engineer MLTSSL Telecommunications Field Engineer MLTSSL
    Transport Engineer MLTSSL
    4. Medical Practitioner
    Occupation Visa Type Occupation Visa Type
    Biochemist MLTSSL Biomedical Engineer MLTSSL
    Cardiologist MLTSSL Cardiothoracic Surgeon MLTSSL
    Chemist MLTSSL Chiropractor MLTSSL
    Clinical Haematologist MLTSSL Clinical Psychologist MLTSSL
    Dermatologist MLTSSL Diagnostic and Interventional Radiologist MLTSSL
    Emergency Medicine Specialist MLTSSL Endocrinologist MLTSSL
    Gastroenterologist MLTSSL General Practitioner MLTSSL
    Intensive Care Specialist MLTSSL Medical Diagnostic Radiographer MLTSSL
    Medical Laboratory Scientist MLTSSL Medical Oncologist MLTSSL
    Medical Practitioners nec MLTSSL Medical Radiation Therapist MLTSSL
    Neurologist MLTSSL Neurosurgeon MLTSSL
    Obstetrician and Gynaecologist MLTSSL Occupational Therapist MLTSSL
    Ophthalmologist MLTSSL Optometrist MLTSSL
    Organisational Psychologist MLTSSL Orthopaedic SurgeonMLTSSL
    Orthotist or Prosthetist MLTSSL Osteopath MLTSSL
    Otorhinolaryngologist MLTSSL Paediatric Surgeon MLTSSL
    Paediatrician MLTSSL PathologistMLTSSL
    Physiotherapist MLTSSL Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeon MLTSSL
    Podiatrist MLTSSL Psychiatrist MLTSSL
    Psychologists MLTSSL Radiation Oncologist MLTSSL
    Renal Medicine Specialist MLTSSL Rheumatologist MLTSSL
    Resident Medical Officer MLTSSL Sonographer MLTSSL
    Specialist Physician (General Medicine) MLTSSL Specialist Physicians nec MLTSSL
    Speech Pathologist MLTSSL Surgeon (General) MLTSSL
    Thoracic Medicine Specialist MLTSSL Urologist MLTSSL
    Vascular Surgeon MLTSSL
    5. Nurse
    Occupation Visa Type Occupation Visa Type
    Nurse Practitioner MLTSSL Registered Nurse (Aged Care) MLTSSL
    Registered Nurse (Child and Family Health) MLTSSL Registered Nurse (Community Health)MLTSSL
    Registered Nurse (Critical Care and Emergency) MLTSSL Registered Nurse (Developmental Disability) MLTSSL
    Registered Nurse (Disability and Rehabilitation) MLTSSL Registered Nurse (Medical Practice) MLTSSL
    Registered Nurse (Medical) MLTSSL Registered Nurse (Mental Health) MLTSSL
    Registered Nurse (Paediatrics) MLTSSL Registered Nurse (Perioperative) MLTSSL
    Registered Nurse (Surgical) MLTSSL Registered Nurses MLTSSL
    Midwife MLTSSL
    6. Veterinarian
    Occupation Visa Type
    Veterinarian MLTSSL
    7. Surveyor
    Occupation Visa Type
    Surveyor MLTSSL
    8. Cartographer
    Occupation Visa Type
    Cartographer MLTSSL
    9. Social Worker
    Occupation Visa Type
    Social Worker MLTSSL
    10. Chef
    Occupation Visa Type
    Chef MLTSSL
    11. Pharmacist
    Occupation Visa Type
    Hospital Pharmacist MLTSSL
    Retail Pharmacist MLTSSL
    Industrial Pharmacist MLTSSL

    If you are interested in migrating to Australia as a skilled worker, it is essential to check whether your occupation is on the SOL and which category it belongs to. You must also meet other visa requirements, such as age, English language proficiency, and work experience.

    If you want to learn more about the Skilled Occupation List and skilled migration to Australia, you can Contact the Maxxcell for the most up-to-date information and Services.

    Start your Journey with Maxxcell